making bbPress (and WordPress) work better!

23 responses

  1. I hate it, I tried everything and I still can’t log in. I’m going back to 2.5

    July 17, 2008 at 10:51 am

  2. shugotenshi

    I got this problem only when I try to login from my nintendo ds browser.
    I went back to 2.5.1, and I have no problem at all, but when I try to use 2.6, my opera browser on my DS doesn’t login.

    instead, on firefox everything fine.

    July 17, 2008 at 11:14 am

  3. Be sure to also clear your cookies in your browser for your website.

    WordPress 2.6 unfortunately re-uses the same cookie by the same name for a different reason so if the browser is (likely) caching it, you’ll get weird behaviors and not be able to login sometimes.

    July 18, 2008 at 7:43 pm

  4. Pingback: Wordpress 2.6 Warning - DO NOT upgrade. | Snoskred - Life in the Country

  5. _ck_, thanks for all the work on this problem. From your contributions to topic/188964, I learned a bit. However, I’ve not yet been able to resolve it, even using multiple variations of the work around you suggested (with cookies cleared before each test).

    Fortunately, for me the problem is browser specific (Safari 3.1.2); I can administer the blogs using Firefox (3.0.1). So, I guess I’ll simply wait and see. But, if you have any further insights, I hope you’ll post about them.

    July 19, 2008 at 7:51 am

  6. Pingback: Where did WordPress go wrong? | Sephy's Platzish

  7. Hello,

    Me too I have a problem login after upgrading to 2.6. I put my password and nothing change. The url no more works. It gives a blank page. I know nothing about programming and I really need a help. I am happy because you seem understand the problem. Thanks a lot

    August 3, 2008 at 12:57 pm

  8. Hi CK, found you via wordpress forum. I had this irritating login problem at wp2.6. Tried your method but somehow it still wouldn’t work. Where should I add: @define(’ADMIN_COOKIE_PATH’, ‘/’);
    I mean, what part of the `wp-config.php`?

    August 8, 2008 at 4:11 am

  9. CK,

    I’ve been having this problem as well and boy is it frustrating. I’m about ready to go back to 2.5. I tried putting this code into my config file, but no matter where I put it I get an error message and my site doesn’t load. Where exactly do you put this code?’

    Thanks for trying to help,


    August 28, 2008 at 12:48 pm

  10. Pingback: Paint the Tiger, Carve the Swan » Can’t access wp-admin on my blog

  11. Connection Interrupted

    Was just out looking for some assistance with login issue and came across your posts. Here’s my dilemma: logged in last night, no problem. Attempted the same thing tonight, no go. I’m on 2.6, Firefox 3.0, Mac OS. Newbie, so any guidance would be most appreciated.


    Here’s the message:

    “The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading.

    The network link was interrupted while negotiating a connection. Please try again.”

    January 12, 2009 at 10:43 pm

  12. I’m using WP 2.7, Windows Vista, Installed Locally, Using firefox 3 and I can’t go to the admin panel.

    Interestingly the login variable and whatever it does to know that the admin is logged in is being done properly, because when i go to the blog itself, it shows the “logout” button, but when I click the SITE ADMIN link, it just redirects back to the login page. Which i so damn irritating! I can’t tell you! I’ve tried out everything.

    I tried to
    clear the cache
    delete cookies
    edit database – changed password (md5 hashed)
    Removed the plugins…
    changed everything done everything whatever was found wherever on the internet…


    February 9, 2009 at 3:42 pm

  13. Go to the actual url of the site. Not the wp-admin. In the lower right of my screen where the menu is, I found a log out option. Seems that once you are in, even if you disconnect the system still thinks your in. Click the logout and then it will take you back to the admin login screen. Then login in as normal.

    February 10, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    • Thanks!! It gave me an “add cookie” error in v3.0 and nothing I did worked. Your solution worked and it was quick and easy.

      June 22, 2010 at 9:05 pm

  14. God, what a nightmare this is. I cannot login to my wordpress site. I transferred it to a new server, and everything has been just fine, but suddently I can’t login. Keeps saying I’m typing the wrong password, and I am NOT. Apart from guessing and tearing up the whole site and all the files in ftp, deleting and reinstalling, does anyone have any idea how to intelligently solve this? Had I know that WordPress was so defective, I’m not sure I would have relied so heavily upon building a large site.


    February 21, 2009 at 11:55 pm

  15. RaiulBaztepo

    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

    March 28, 2009 at 8:34 pm

  16. Yes! I am also in same situations I guess this is because of over flow of cache. I’ll try to clear it and will post if got successfully resolved this problem. The second option could be to check your disk space usage of public_html/ or www/ folder on server.

    November 27, 2009 at 6:38 am

  17. SOLUTION ==

    If you cannot access

    but you will be able to access

    Go ahead and blog till I fix the dashboard index error.

    November 27, 2009 at 6:54 am

  18. “Fix for wordpress 2.6 cant login | _ck_ says.

    ..” tirey was a terrific article and therefore I actually was indeed really glad to
    read the blog. Thank you,Cherie

    March 2, 2013 at 12:22 am

  19. Pingback: can’t login wordpress admin

  20. Pingback: can’t log in wordpress

  21. Pingback: can’t login into wordpress admin

  22. Pingback: wordpress login admin default | PDF Finder

Leave a Reply

