making bbPress (and WordPress) work better!

XAMPP, install PHP+Apache on Windows in 1 minute flat!

I feel like I was probably the last PHP coder on the planet to discover this but there is a wonderful open-source, free project called XAMPP that will let you install php+apache+mysql+optional bunch of other nifty things on your windows machine in under a minute flat. It almost took me longer to download it than to install!

I had made a mental note years ago of the idea of running PHP at home but it always seemed easier to just upload and execute on the remote server. I had remembered “PHPtriad” but it’s not developed anymore and the author has made their new version commercial ($$$).

XAMPP is so neat, it took another 10 seconds to turn on Curl and even has eaccelerator available if you want. It keeps everything in one folder (with sub-folders) and no registry settings so you can even keep it portable on a usb stick if so desired.

Oh and XAMPP is not just for Windows, it comes in Mac, Linux and Solaris flavours.

19 responses

  1. This is the message I keep getting on a Windows XP machine:
    Something is wrong with the XAMPP Lite installation😦

    What could be wrong? I have not changed any of the settings. Also note, I downloaded and installed the .exe version.

    Any help is greatly appreciated.


    December 10, 2007 at 12:49 pm

  2. Mike

    MAMP is best for Macs.

    December 21, 2007 at 5:01 am

  3. Oh boy, I started playing with XAMPP before i even know what a blog was😛

    December 27, 2007 at 1:08 am

  4. ravi

    I have installed xampp on my windowsxp machine apache and phpworks but i want to configure mysql.Where to write query to create table. i wanted to create databases driven webpage pls help me.

    January 20, 2008 at 3:59 am

  5. tactech

    “Something is wrong with the XAMPP Lite installation :-(”
    when i run the index.php in the htdocs folder
    pls help

    February 27, 2008 at 3:41 pm

  6. sayeo87

    yup. My neighbour has the same problem. And when he tests some PHP code the browser doesn’t interpret it. Help please?

    May 1, 2008 at 4:35 pm

  7. danny


    make sure he puts the php file in httd docs
    am not saying hes stupid but some people just try opening it from there desktop

    September 5, 2008 at 5:04 pm

  8. Aditya Bhat

    hi, im a beginner in php, i installed xampp so that i could learn php.. but my browser is not readin the php script. please tell me where i should store the php script files.

    January 23, 2009 at 1:25 am

  9. Aditya, it has to go into the \xampp\htdocs
    and then you access via http://localhost/your-file.php

    January 23, 2009 at 11:27 am

    • joyce

      thanks.. my problem was solved. God bless.

      October 1, 2010 at 5:34 am

    • ace

      thanks. it really works .

      April 2, 2011 at 4:24 am

  10. Viragomaniac

    It’s not working even if I put files in htdocs folder.

    February 24, 2009 at 6:56 am

  11. raghu

    Hello Can anyone tell me minimum system requirements (ram,disk space, os…etc) to run xampp in my system………

    June 6, 2009 at 1:44 am

  12. Mar

    To all above who are getting the “Something is wrong…” message:
    After starting the service, you navigate to your installation by opening a browser Window and putting “localhost” as the address.

    Double clicking index.php will not work since this action simply opens the raw PHP-file in your web browser; no PHP parsing is actually done by your browser, it needs to pass through the apache server (which, again, is accessible @ “http://localhost” after running the service.

    July 3, 2009 at 3:26 pm

  13. neeko

    ..hello guyss,,help me with my problem,,”somthing wrong with the XAMPP installation :-(”
    i did not change anything,i just double click the xampp installer then i install it,,
    _help me plssssss…
    _thnx n advance

    November 14, 2009 at 3:51 am

  14. I have the same problem somthing wrong with the XAMPP installation😦

    August 17, 2010 at 8:24 pm

  15. Looks like this application better than others

    May 28, 2011 at 11:56 pm

Leave a Reply

