making bbPress (and WordPress) work better!

Captcha without cookies or sessions

One problem I have had with adding captcha to my blogs is that virtually all of the plugins available require sessions to track the “magic code” via a cookie on the server side. Well this creates a big problem because many visitors turn off cookies by default for sites they are not familiar with which will make the post fail, then they have to hit the back button and because sessions are active, most browers will see it as an expired page so it empties out the comment form! That’s very fustrating and I have experienced myself on many blogs where I gave up commenting entirely because it was too annoying.

Well I finally found a decent WordPress captcha plugin I could modify easily enough. “Anti Spam Image” by Nio can be found over here:

My version uses MySQL instead of sessions to keep the code available for 30 minutes to the visitor. I’ve posted my modification at the bottom of his comments or you can get it here:
(backup download location:

4 responses

  1. Hi _ck_,

    I would love to see your solution and see if I can make it work with my bBlog implementation. Unfortunately, the link appears to have expired. Would you consider reposting, or emailing me the code?


    September 12, 2006 at 5:51 am

  2. Sorry about that. SendFile seems dead now.
    I’ve uploaded it to a couple of other places instead, see the end of the post.

    ps. I can’t see any images on your website – your anti-hotlink code might be too aggressive.

    September 13, 2006 at 2:25 am

  3. Hi _ck_,

    Very cool. I’m looking at it now to figure out how I’m going to implement it with what I’ve got. Thank you, kindly.

    I don’t know what’s up with the image blocking. I’ve removed the .htaccess file in the images directory for the time being until I can work out what’s happening. Thank you for the heads up.


    September 13, 2006 at 5:39 am

  4. thanks

    January 4, 2009 at 11:21 am

Leave a Reply

